Ironman 70.3 World Championship 2014 Qualifiers

Ironman 70.3 World Championship 2014 Qualifiers

The first list of qualifiers for the 2014 Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Mont Tremblant have been released and if all who’ve accepted make it to the start line, this will undoubtedly be the most hotly-contested edition since the event’s inception in 2007.

The reigning World champions Melissa Hauschildt and Sebastian Kienle are set to headline this year’s edition taking place on September 7 in Mont Tremblant, Canada.

Joining Kienle on the men’s list of athletes who’ve accepted their slot includes last year’s podium finishers Joe Gambles and Terenzo Bozzone, as well as in-form athletes Jan Frodeno, Tim Reed, Richie Cunningham, Andrew Starykowicz, Brad Kahlefeldt, Brent McMahon, Lionel Sanders, James Cunnama, Bevan Docherty, Craig Alexander and Ivan Raña among others. Jesse Thomas is not on the list yet, but he recently tweeted his invitation to race and has indicated he will be in Mont Tremblant. Expect there to be a couple more roll downs in the coming days.

There will also a big shadow cast over this event by the Spanish superstar Javier Gomez, who will compete in the Ironman 70.3 World Championships for the first time in 2014.

Ironman 70.3 World Championship 2014 Qualifiers

There are some notable athletes who’ve chosen not to accept their slot, including Andy Potts, Tim O’Donnell, Bertrand Billard, Casey Munro, Tyler Butterfield and Paul Matthews.

The women’s list of July qualifiers is pretty incredible too, with Annabel Luxford, Heather Wurtele, Catriona Morrison, Svenja Bazlen, Meredith Kessler, Daniela Ryf, Helle Frederiksen, Angela Naeth, Lisa Hütthaler and Radka Vodickova to name a few.

Given she will be racing the Ironman 70.3 European Championships and Ironman Sweden it’s not surprising to see the 2012 World champion Leanda Cave turn down her slot.

Qualification for the Ironman 70.3 World Championship wrapped up on July 27, 2014 and this year will also be the first on the new rotating system announced by World Triathlon Corporation last season. In total, 42 men and 32 women have accepted the opportunity (at this stage) to race at this year’s Ironman 70.3 World Championship.

Ironman 70.3 World Championship 2014 Qualifiers

NOTE: This is not the final list, more spots will roll down and we will update the names below over the coming days.

1 Terenzo Bozzone NZL
2 Tim Reed AUS
3 Sebastian Kienle DEU
4 Joe Gambles AUS
5 Tim Don GBR
6 Jan Frodeno DEU
7 Richie Cunningham AUS
8 Will Clarke GBR
9 Leon Griffin AUS
10 Andrew Starykowicz USA
11 Brad Kahlefeldt AUS
12 Kevin Collington USA
13 Matt Chrabot USA
14 Samuel Appleton AUS
15 Tim Van Berkel AUS
16 Brent Mcmahon CAN
17 Lionel Sanders CAN
18 Callum Millward NZL
19 Ruedi Wild CHE
20 Jeremy Jurkiewicz FRA
21 Ben Hoffman USA
22 Trevor Wurtele CAN
23 Igor Amorelli BRA
24 Andreas Dreitz DEU
25 Filip Ospaly CZE
26 Josh Amberger AUS
27 Bevan Docherty NZL
28 Nils Frommhold DEU
29 James Cunnama ZAF
30 Javier Gomez ESP
31 Craig Alexander AUS
32 Clayton Fettell AUS
33 Albert Moreno ESP
34 Stuart Marais ZAF
35 Ben Collins USA
36 James Seear AUS
37 Alex Reithmeier AUS
38 Boris Stein DEU
39 Bart Aernouts BEL
40 Domenico Passuello ITA
41 John Polson AUS
42 Ivan Raña ESP
1 Melissa Hauschildt AUS
2 Annabel Luxford AUS
3 Catriona Morrison GBR
4 Heather Wurtele CAN
5 Heather Jackson USA
6 Svenja Bazlen DEU
7 Lisa Huetthaler AUT
8 Meredith Kessler USA
9 Jodie Swallow GBR
10 Daniela Ryf CHE
11 Helle Frederiksen DNK
12 Radka Vodickova CZE
13 Amanda Stevens USA
14 Angela Naeth CAN
15 Rebekah Keat AUS
16 Melanie Mcquaid CAN
17 Margaret Shapiro USA
18 Rachel Mcbride CAN
19 Susie Hignett GBR
20 Ruth Brennan Morrey USA
21 Valentina Carvallo CHL
22 Laura Bennett USA
23 Emma-kate Lidbury GBR
24 Camilla Pedersen DNK
25 Mary Beth Ellis USA
26 Mirinda Carfrae AUS
27 Lauren Barnett USA
28 Michelle Wu AUS
29 Amber Ferreira USA
30 Magali Tisseyre CAN
31 Laura Siddall GBR
32 Hallie Blunck USA